The Brick Theater, Inc.

in association with

Target Margin Theater

presents

THE TARGET MARGIN LABORATORY



In rotating rep, the productions in the TMT LAB include the classic avante-garde play The Yellow Sound by Wassily Kandinsky, an experimental theater piece originated by the Russian artist in 1909, The Magic Flute (A Sound-Op Era)adapted from the opera by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, and the early American play, The Moth and The Flame by Clyde Fitch written at the turn of the 20th Century.

The three-week performance schedule at The Brick is as follows:

 

The Yellow Sound
by Wassily Kandinsky
Lead Artists - Kate Sinclair Foster & Mary Neufeld

A visual soundscape of giant puppets, psychedelic colors and indistinct beings.

Thursday, November 4 at 8:00 p.m.
Friday, November 5 at 8:00 p.m.
Saturday, November 6 at 8:00 p.m.
Sunday, November 7 at 7:00 p.m.
Monday, November 8 at 8:00 p.m.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

THE MAGIC FLUTE (A Sound-Op Era)
adapted from the opera by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Lead artist - Kate Marvin

Kann Musik bezaubern? Could a flute be the key? Does the “flöte” put the “zauber” in TMT? (And what’s going on with the Freemasonry?)  A zauberoperatic journey through fire, water, and glitter starring theremins, opera singers, ukuleles, dictaphones, melodicas, maestros with big hair, speakers of Transrational German, wind-up dolls, toy pianos, Stage Managers in tights, Sound Demons in tuxedos, Freemasons in fake beards, and the sound of magic.

Wednesday, November 10 at 7:30 p.m.
Thursday, November 11 at 8:00 p.m.
Friday, November 12 at 8:00 p.m.
Saturday, November 13  at 8:00 p.m.
Sunday, November 14 at 7:00 p.m.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

THE MOTH AND THE FLAME
by Clyde Fitch
Lead Artist - Yuri Skujins

Written in the late 19th century, this relentlessly chatty and darkly comedic play looks at the strivings--financial, social, and otherwise--of that era's plucky New Yorkers and their curiously modern concerns and timely dilemmas.

Tuesday, November 16 at 8:00 p.m.
Wednesday, November 17 at 8:00 p.m.
Thursday, November 18 at 8:00 p.m.
Friday, November 19 at 8:00 p.m.
Saturday, November 20 at 8:00 p.m.

Tickets are priced at $12 until October 31 ($15 from November 1) and are available below or by calling Ovationtix at 866-811-4111. 

 

 

Only at The Brick, 575 Metropolitan Avenue, Williamsburg, Brooklyn
one block from the Lorimer stop of the L train / Metropolitan stop of the G train.